Senator Akwashiki Wins Re-election Bid To Senate As JJ Umaru Goes To House Of Reps

Senator representing Nasarawa North Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Senator Godiya Akwashiki has won his bid to return to the red chambers in the just concluded national assembly elections.

Senator Godiya Akwashiki who flew the flag of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), beat his closest rival Barr. Danladi Envulu-anza of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the elections which held on Saturday February 25, 2023.

After the final collation of results, Senator Akwashiki polled 44,471 votes against Barr. Envulu-anza’s 32,058 votes to emerge victorious. Nathaniel Aboki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 11,212 votes while one-time senator, John Danboyi of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 4,083 votes with Dr. Musa Wen of the Labour Party (LP) coming slightly ahead of NNPP with 4,520 votes.

Making the declaration in the early hours of Monday February 27, 2023, the returning officer, Prof. Ilemona Adofu said: “That Akwashiki Godiya of SDP, having satisfied the requirement of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

Recall that Senator Godiya Akwashiki formerly of the APC, had resigned and moved to the SDP sighting manipulation of the list of delegates preparatory to the APC National Assembly primaries in May 2022. This paved the way for the emergence of Barr. Danladi Envulu-anza as the APC flagbearer. It also set the stage for what became a heated campaigns between the SDP and APC camps in the Nasarawa North Senatorial Zone.

Meanwhile, Jeremiah J. Umaru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) emerged victorious in the Akwanga/Nassarawa Eggon/Wamba Federal Constituency elections. He beat Hon. Aliyu Safiyanu of the SDP and the incumbent, Hon. Abdulkarim Usman of the PDP. He emerged with 38,430 votes as against 21,284 votes for SDP and 19,683 votes for PDP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights