President Muhammadu Buhari Establishes Disability Commission, Appoints Esther Awu, Others Into Management

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Mrs Esther Andrew Awu as member of management of the newly established National Commission for Persons with Disabilities.

This was contained in a statement signed by Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina.

According to the statement, Mrs Esther Andrew Awu represents the North-Central zone of Nigeria.

Hon. Dr Hussaini Suleiman Kangiwa (North-West) and James David Lalu (North-Central) were appointed as Chairman and Executive Secretary respectively, of the management of the commission.

Others appointed as members include  Oparaku Onyejelam Jaja (South-East), Philomena Isioma Konwea (South-South), Omopariola Busuyi Oluwasola (South-West), Amina Rahma Audu (North-West) and Abba Audu Ibrahim (North-East).

Their appointment follows President Muhammadu Buhari’s approval of the composition of the Governing Council and appointment of Executive Secretary of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities in line with the Discrimination Against Persons with Disabilities (Prohibition) Act 2019.

According to the Act, the Commission shall be headed by a Part-Time Chairman and six Members who shall be Persons with Disabilities representing the geo-political zones of the federation subject to confirmation of the Senate for a four-year term of office in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term of four years and no more.

The Executive Secretary, who shall be responsible to the Council for the implementation of the policies and administration of the daily affairs of the Commission, shall also be a Person with Disability with a five-year tenure in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term and no more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights