NSHA Screens, Confirms 14 Commissioner Nominees

By Eric M. Kuju

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly (NSHA) has today (Wednesday December 15, 2021), screened and confirmed 14 persons nominated by the Nasarawa State Governor, Engineer Abdullahi Sule.

In a seating which held at the chambers of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly along Shendam Road in Lafia, all 14 nominees that appeared before the House were confirmed after their screening.

Announcing the confirmation of the nominees after the screening exercise, Honourable Speaker of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi called on the nominees to live above board while discharging their duties when they are eventually sworn into office.

The Speaker then directed the Clerk of the House, Mr Ego Maikeffi, to communicate the resolution of the House to the Governor for further action.

Recall that Nasarawa State Governor, Engineer Abdullahi Sule had on Thursday December 9 2021, sent a list of 15 nominees to be confirmed by the House of Assembly as Commissioners in the State Executive Council. The list however included Dr. Abdulkarim Kana who is currently serving as the State’s Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice. This brought the number of nominees to be screened by the House to 14.

One name that stood out in the list of nominees was that of 28-year-old lawyer, Barrister Hannatu Abimiku who hails from Lafia Local Government Area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights