Nasarawa State NULGE Get New Leadership

The Nasarawa State chapter of the National Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE) has sworn-in a new set of executives to lead the union.

The swearing in took place at the 7th Nasarawa State NULGE Quadrennial Conference which held at Super Cinema Akwanga on March 18, 2020.

The swearing in was preceded by the election in which delegates from all the Local Government Councils in the State voted for candidates of their choice. There was a total of 290 delegates.

At the end of the election, Comrade Adamu Rak Sharhabilu emerged President while Comrade Tanko Zaga and Comrade Halidu Agah emerged Vice President and Treasurer respectively.

Others who emerged include Comrade Abdullahi Yakubu as Publicity Secretary, Comrade Oforku Aliyu Liman as Welfare Officer, Comrade Zubairu Adamu as Auditor I and Comrade Abubakar D. Sabo as Auditor II.

Comrade Jafaru Aliyu emerged as Trustee while Comrade Hafsat Tanko Abdullahi and Comrade Hassan Idris emerged Chairperson of the women committee and State Young Workers respectively.

Speaking after the election, the now former President, Comrade Abdullahi Abubakar (alias Alaye), expressed his profound appreciation to the members of the union for the support he enjoyed during his tenure.

Comrade Abubakar also apologised to those he would have offended in the course of carrying out his duties.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected President, Adamu Rak expressed gratitude to all who cast their votes in his favour, promising not to betray the trust they have reposed in him.

He charged all his members to endeavour to give he and his officials maximum cooperation so that they can take the union to greater heights.

The election was conducted under the supervision of national officials of the union.

Some of the national officials who were present include the General Secretary, Chukwu Emeka, the National Auditor Ayuba Shamdu, the Administrative Secretary Jamilu Mustafa and the National Treasurer.

Also present was the Nasarawa State NLC Chairman, Comrade Yusuf Iya and the state secretary Abdulmumin Sa’ad.

The government of Nasarawa State was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Alhaji Sani Bala.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights