Nasarawa Assembly Gets New Minority Leader, Dissolves All Other Minority Positions

Hon. Abel Yakubu Bala (PDP), Member representing Nasarawa Eggon West constitency has been announced as the new Minority Leader of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly.

This comes barely a day after the suspension of the now former Deputy Minority Leader of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Hon Luka Iliya Zhekaba (PDP- Obi 2).

In the same vein, the House announced the dissolution of the all other minority positions in the House leaving only that of the Minority Leader.

Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi, who announced this during the House sitting today (September 14, 2021) in Lafia said the appointment of the new Minority Leader is with immediate effect.

“We have met and have agreed to appoint a new Minority Leader in the person of Hon Abel Yakubu Bala, the former Minority Whip and this takes immediate effect.

“In the same vein, all other minority positions in the House stand dissolved,” the Speaker said.

It will be recalled that the former Minority Leader, Hon Danladi Jatau, member representing Kokona West left PDP for APC, leaving the position vacant with the Deputy Minority Leader doing the Minority Leader’s job at the floor of the House before his suspension.

The minority positions dissolved include Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

As it stands now, out of the 24 members in the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, APC has 20, PDP has three and ZLP has one.

This was not the case when the House was inaugurated on June 10, 2019 where APC had 15 members, PDP seven, SDP one and ZLP one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights