Nasarawa Assembly Begins Probe Of Local Government Finances

The nine-man ad-hoc committee set up by the Nasarawa State House of Assembly to investigate Local Government development funds in the State has commenced sitting today (Wednesday September 28, 2022) in Lafia.

Hon Abdullahi Dahiru Angibi, the Chairman of the committee made this known during its inaugural sitting in assembly complex.

He assured of the committee’s readiness to be transparent, fair and just while carrying out its duties.

“If we will recall, yesterday, September 27, 2022, the Rt. Hon Speaker, Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi has set up this committee to investigate Local Government finances and lack of development at the grassroots in the State.

“We are mandated to look into the matter which include  how the State Financial, Transparency, Accountability and Sustainability (SFTAS) Funds, Ecological funds, State Internal Generated Revenue (IGR) and Paris Club were recieved and disbursed amongst the tiers of government in the state.

“We want to assure the people of Nasarawa State of transparency, accountability, fairness and justice while carrying out this assignment.

“The committee was not set up to witch hunt anybody, we are going to ensure that we do a thorough investigation and to come out with reports devoid of sentiment.” He said.

The chairman also assured government officials and MDAs involved in the investigation of fair hearing for the overall development of the State.

“We are going to give them and every ministry and agency involved in the investigation fair hearing so that nobody will complain at the end of the day,” he said.

Hon. Angibi assured of the committee’s determination to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

It would be reported that the 9 man Ad-hoc committee include Hon Abdullahi Dahiru Angibi, the Chairman, House Committee on Public Account, is the Chairman of the Ad-hoc committee and other members of the Ad-hoc  committee are Hon David Maiyaki, Vice Chairman, Public Accounts Committee, Hon Aliyu Dogara, Chairman, House Committee on Finance and Appropriation , Hon Mohammed Okpoku, Vice Chairman, House Committee on Finance and Appropriation,

Hon Daniel Ogazi, Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Mohammed Agah Muluku, Chief Whip, Hon Abel Bala, the Minority Leader and Hon Mohammed Alkali, Chairman, House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs and the Secretary of the Ad-hoc committee is, the Deputy Clerk of the House, Mr Ibrahim Musa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights