ECDA National Representatives Council Ratifies EYM Caretaker Committee

The National Representatives Council (NRC) of the Eggon Cultural and Development Association (ECDA) has today (March 20, 2021), ratified the constitution of a caretaker committee to oversee the affairs of the national body of the Eggon Youth Movement (EYM).

The NRC which is the highest decision making organ of the ECDA, ratified the action by the national executives of ECDA during her meeting which held at the Eggon Community Secondary School, Nassarawa Eggon.

In his speech at the event, ECDA President, Comrade Pastor Wilberforce Alaku explained that every action taken by his executives has always been in the interest of the Eggon people saying there is no one whose personal interest can be placed above that.

ECDA President, Comrade Wilberforce Alaku making his remarks

The ECDA President urged the caretaker committee to swing into immediate action. He said: “This committee should swing into action immediately. They should call for their meeting so they can carry on with the activities of the EYM. You cannot leave a room without an inhabitant. If a room is like that, with nobody living in it, the room will collapse. And if the society is like that, without anybody to carry it, it will not move.

“So they should plan whatever with the mandate that we have given them, to see that they beat the time given to them to bring out a good solution for our youths so that the youths will unite again and move normally.”

Comrade Wilberforce Alaku then called on every well meaning Eggon son and daughter to give full support to the caretaker committee so they can bring unity and put all the rancour in the rear view.

Presenting the members of the EYM caretaker committee to the ECDA NRC, ECDA General Secretary, Dr. Vincent Paul said they are a result of a resolution reached by the National Representative Assembly of the Eggon Youth Movement.

Cross Section of ECDA NRC Members at the meeting

He further stated that the EYM NRA also resolved to give the caretaker committee a period of three months which will elapse on Thursday June 3, 2021, to organise “free, fair, credible and peaceful elections and swearing in of a new national executives for the Eggon Youth Movement (EYM)”.

The ECDA General Secretary then put to the resolutions of the EYM NRA to the ECDA NRC which they endorsed.

Recall that on Saturday March 6, 2021, the National Representatives Assembly of the EYM held an emergency meeting at the instance of the national executives of the ECDA who said they were acting on instructions from the palace of the Aren Eggon.

Members of the EYM Caretaker Committee

It was at the said emergency EYM NRA meeting that a five-man caretaker committee was formed consisting of Comrade Alex James Audu Maku (alias Rapson) to serve as Chairman while Mallam Umar Abdullahi Faruk (alias Danka) and Comrade Madi Akwashiki Saka will serve as Secretary and PRO respectively. The other two members of the committee are Comrade Dauda Averson Musa and Comrade Sani Umaru.

Speaking at the meeting, the Chairman of the EYM caretaker committee, Comrade Alex James Audu Maku appreciated the ECDA for the interest they have shown in resolving all the issues bedevilling the EYM.

He then called for support from all quarters while promising that he and other members of the committee will do their best to see that they deliver on the mandate given to them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights