COVID19: NAFDAC Approves Three Additional Vaccines For Use

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) has granted emergency-use-authorisation for three COVID-19 vaccines in Nigeria.

The three additional vaccines approved are Moderna, AstraZeneca and the Sputnik V vaccine yet to receive approval from the World Health Organisation.

The NAFDAC director-general, Mojisola Adeyeye, announced this at a briefing in Abuja on Thursday.

Mrs Adeyeye said the approved AstraZeneca vaccines are from Korea “due to the stall in procurement of those manufactured under licence by Serum Institute of India, and were initially administered in the country.”

“NAFDAC is announcing the approval of Moderna, AstraZeneca vaccines and conditional approval of Sputnik V vaccine.

“The NAFDAC Vaccine Committee has been carefully assessing several vaccines despite the fact the vaccines have been approved by stringent regulatory countries or have received WHO’s Emergency Use Listing (EUL),” she said.

She said Moderna and AstraZeneca AZD1222 vaccines have received WHO EUL listing and were given expedited approvals.

NAFDAC had previously approved AstraZeneca (India), Pfizer BioNTech and Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights