7th Nasarawa Assembly Crisis: A Tale Of 11 Against 13

For many political watchers, the memories of 2013 are still fresh in their minds. This is refering to the election of the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) where the then Federal Government recognised Governor Jonah Jang who polled 16 votes as the winner against Governor Rotimi Amaechi who got 19 votes.

It seems the same is happening in Nasarawa State with the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 7th Nasarawa State House of Assembly.

The inauguration of the 7th Assembly that was expected to be a straightforward event has turned to a sad or funny story (depending on your state of mind).

The Nasarawa State Governor, Engr Abdullahi Sule, had in line with his constitutional powers, dissolved the 6th Assembly and made proclamation for the 7th Assembly.

An announcement by the Acting Clerk of the House, Mr. Ibrahim Musa stated that the 7th Assembly will be inaugurated on Tuesday June 6, 2023.

Hon. Daniel Ogazi (Right) and Hon. Mohammed Oyanki (Left)

However, things started to get interesting when in the early hours of Tuesday (June 6), an announcement purportedly signed by the Acting Clerk of the House said the inauguration had been postponed ‘based on security advice’.

According to reports, smelling something fishy in the offing, 13 out of the 24 Members-elect decided to disregard that announcement and reported at the Nasarawa State House of Assembly along with their supporters as earlier scheduled. These were the Members-elect loyal to Hon. Daniel Ogazi.

These Members-elect were however unable to get into the premises as security agents had already cordoned off the place.

Hon. Jacob Kudu being sworn-in as Deputy Speaker by the Acting Clerk of the House

However, by afternoon time, the security around the premises of the State legislative chambers became relaxed and the 13 Members-elect (who never left) were able to enter. They then conducted their affairs and produced Hon. Daniel Ogazi (APC, Kokona East) as Speaker and Hon. Mohammed Oyanki (PDP, Doma North) as his deputy.

Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi and Hon. Jacob Kudu were received at the Government House by Governor Abdullahi Sule and his deputy Dr Emmanuel Akabe

The other 11 Members-elect elect were at the same time doing their business not too far from the State legislative chambers, at the Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

These 11 Members-elect returned the immediate past Speaker, Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi as Speaker, while Hon. Jacob Kudu (APC, Nasarawa Eggon East) emerged Deputy Speaker.

Immediately after their elections, the 11 Members were received at the Nasarawa State Government House by Governor Abdullahi Sule, Deputy Governor Emmanuel Akabe and other Nasarawa APC stalwarts.

As it stands both groups are laying claim to the seat of Speaker but the question remains, will 11 prevail over 13 as 16 were allowed to prevail over 19 in 2013?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights